• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

Move AC from a '93 to a '90

FyoDisco

Move AC from a '93 to a '90 - Volvo 240

Hey guys! I'm new to this forum. I'm about to move a complete AC-system from my 1993 car to my 1990 car without AC. I've never done this before and since 240's with AC is much more common in the US than in Sweden I thought I might ask for your help. I've read a few threads on the subject but I still have some questions.

The car I'm taking the AC-system from is a '93 as I've mentioned. Therefore it's already made for R134 , which is good I believe. Or do you recommend another cooling gas?

I am going to reuse everything except for the accumulator and the condenser. Is there something else aswell I should buy brand new? All the o-rings will be replaced of course.

Will there be any problems when installing the AC-system to my '90? I've looked a little bit under the hood and as far as I've noticed I need to drill a few holes for the condenser, the hoses/lines and for the attachment of the accumulator. Is there something else that can cause me troubles?

I've understood that the 93 system is different from the 91-92 system, and that the big difference is the threads on the couplings. During my search for parts it seems more difficult to find parts for the 93-system. According to the GCP catalogue I'm supposed to have the accumulator with part number 3537542, but it's not in stock at Volvo/GCP. On the other hand, there is a accumulator with part number 9131972 in stock and it's supposed to be for a '93 system. Do you know if there is a difference between these two?

The white wagon is the 1993 and the red wagon is the 1990, the one who is getting the AC.

glbw7rsl.jpg

This is what it looks like under the hood on the 1993.

YCJZYpGl.jpg