• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

Whiteblock into a 240 - Engine Management?

Chuck W

As I've committed to swapping a whiteblock 5-cyl into my 240, I'm left with trying to decide what ECU to use for the project.

The shortlist of possibles are:
-MS3
-MaxxECU
-Flashable M4.4 Motronic

I'm intending to do COP and utilize the ExVVT set-up on the engine I have.
I've messed with older MS stuff on a couple of projects and have begin to dabble in the M4.4 tuning on our 850's. I'm no expert though.

Are either of the non-OE ECUs a better choice for the 5-cyl? Been starting to dig through documentation on them, but haven't been swayed one way or the other.

Trying to keep costs reasonable, but I understand that this will most likely be one of the more pricey components of the project.

Thoughts?

Everybody swears by the MaxxECU stuff for the white blocks.

However, people are making damn good power with the help of Aaron at VAST. The nice thing about a tuned 4.4 ECU is that you don't have to do any of the warm up ****.

However, people are making damn good power with the help of Aaron at VAST. The nice thing about a tuned 4.4 ECU is that you don't have to do any of the warm up ****.

Yeah, I recently got stuff set-up to be able to flash/tune the M4.4 stuff, and have messed around with things a little bit, and not having to deal with the fiddly bits would be nice. The learning curve on tuning that set-up is a bit steeper, though.

Yeah, I recently got stuff set-up to be able to flash/tune the M4.4 stuff, and have messed around with things a little bit, and not having to deal with the fiddly bits would be nice. The learning curve on tuning that set-up is a bit steeper, though.

Just have Aaron tune it for you?