• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

Planning on Megasquirt - Want to do it Right

Xovaan

research flat earth
Hey guys,

I really want to Megasquirt my car for educational purposes and because it seems fun as hell. At the same time, I want to do it right: This means no shortcuts, good materials, and a satisfying end result that leaves the car better than when I started. Currently, I have no deeper academic knowledge than nomenclature and a basic understanding of what each component does, hypothetically and/or anecdotally. I understand VE, AFR, dwell, and a lot of other basic principles. But the primary goal of this project is fulfilling this knowledge so I'll be proficient in the inner workings of EMS, or at least my own vehicle.

The vehicle's drivetrain that I'll be megasquirting is a 1994 B230FT with LH2.4, EZ116K, TLAO chips, and a 012 MAF. Eventually this will lead up to me swapping in another built 16vt. I plan on having this vehicle be my daily driver (once it's daily driveable ;-) ). I've heard great things about MS3-Pro, but most of my information comes from recommendations and reading online. The car is registered in Tillamook (primary residence) so I don't have to worry about smog / alternative ECUs with this particular vehicle.

Some questions:

1. MS3-Pro with fresh wiring harness or MS3-Pro with module in ECU case and a donor LH2.4 harness: Which one would you go for and why? What are your choice materials for building either harness to at least OEM quality?

2. MAP vs. MAF. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each? I'm leaning toward a MAP sensor since it seems like a far better way to tune, but I'm open to any suggestions.