• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

16V or 531

SEslayer

Dumber than I look.
so i have a 16V and other bits i pulled from my 16V N/A sitting in my garage.
but i have been offered a 531 head for less than what i should be able to sell the 16V for.
what i want to know is how big is the difference?
i am aiming for 350hp starting figure, probably 400.
im not sure what to do, unfortunatly i have 3 months a year that i actually earn decent money. (im a student)
so i have a very limited budget and am planning to spend less than 5k so make it 4k usd considering i need to pay for shipping from yoshifab and the conversion rate.
i already have a 1990 740 T and am planning to put a TH350 behind it.
so considering i already have the head and motor, oh and a 16T. what does everyone think is my best option?

Considering your in NZ id be leaning to the 531 head as its a very common and well walked path, so if any issues show up it can be quickly troubleshot and fixed with minimum down time. 16v conversion requires trickier parts that if they fail or you have issues will require a considerably longer turn around especially with shipping.

That said a 16v will make the power you are after easier, and the 8v will need some love if your trying to push those kind of numbers which could end up being more expensive.

Id do the best i could to research each avenue as much as possible, and using that information deciding on the one that makes the most sense.

531 with the right mods and turbo will put down 400whp. I believe Boris on here is about there now with a T3/T4.

16v is capable of more power, however.