• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

Another T6 build (it's the new 16v +T, right?)

Silver

No crust.
Apparently all the cool kids are building these engines now.
There's enough information on this site that I should be able to make it happen. At any rate, I'm ready to upgrade:

WP_000186.jpg

The plan is to copy some of what everyone else has done on their builds.
I know these builds aren't cheap and I'm a student so this one will take a while.

Here's half of the engine. Ran great when pulled (tranny did what S80 trannys do).
WP_000189.jpg

I'm shooting to break 300 hp at the wheels. Figuring on a 25% drivetrain loss (AW30-40) that puts me over 400 hp at the crank. I'd like to call it 450 to be safe.

Current plans are to spec this block to see if it needs to be honed. I'll move forward from there. From what I can tell, the general consensus is that the liners are too thin to go over by more than .007 (and even that might be pushing it). I might look for a 2.5 block if things are too far out of round.

I'm sure I'll have questions as things progress. Helpful comments and insights are welcome :)

(Mods: I figured this thread would be mostly me asking questions so I put it in Performance rather than Projects. Feel free to move it.)

Last edited:
Does anyone have easy access to Vadis or some source that would have block bore tolerance specs? I'll have the machine shop measure when they hot tank it but I'd like to know if I'm close before I bother taking it in.

if youre going to run a 5 cylinder block, go with a 2.3

2.5 have very thin walls that like to crack a lot. after all they just took a 2.3 with thin walls and bored it out to make them even thinner

Thanks guys!

Nathan, I'm sure I'll have more than a few questions for you along the way. :)