• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

D?j? Vu Mid-Blue - 1989 Volvo 245 DL

volvowagoon

I?ve been lurking around here again for the past year or so trying to get a feel for how things have changed. I see that it?s mostly the same old T-bricks! After posting a few times about some issues I?ve faced on the new wagon, I was quickly reminded of why the Volvo community is so great. There are some very quality brains and unique personalities in here, so I figured I would allow some time to tell the story of my girlfriend?s brick. However, a lot of back story will help explain why she has this car. If you don?t care about my life story you can skip to the second post!

In 2011, I was an arrogant university student trying to learn how to be the best mechanic in the field by reading books and carefully choosing classes. My dream was that upon graduation, I would have a great white collar job, own my own shop, build the baddest Buicks anybody had ever seen, and basically live happily ever after as if college grads just have it made after age 24. :lol: Anyway, I met a new friend who was also into older American cars, but he drove a ?94 960. This seemed like blasphemy at the time. I asked why he would drive such a terrible import if he was into American cars, and somehow, he managed to break into my thick head.

jcCsKVB.jpg

He bought that car for $200 knowing that the timing belt broke. This was quite the gamble for a broke college kid in need of reliable transportation between Southern and Northern Illinois, but he spent the $100 for head resurfacing, tossed a few new valves in it, disregarded the dinged piston, crossed his fingers, and put it back together. The car never skipped a beat after that.

UyFkFnG.jpg