• Hello Guest, welcome to the initial stages of our new platform!
    You can find some additional information about where we are in the process of migrating the board and setting up our new software here

Thank you for being a part of our community!

alignment question

durk80

Hello again, after replacing the rack and pinion on my 1990 240, I had my friend take it in for an alignment. He specifically said 'do an alignment'. However, aren't they supposed to reset the steering wheel so it is centered and one doesn't have to have the wheel at the two o'clock position on a straightaway?

Also, there was just the bill. No print out of the specific adjustments made. I've never used this company before, but it seems like if they actually did an alignment, they would give the specs. I hope that I am wrong, but any advice would be most helpful.

DSC-0615.jpg
[/url][/IMG]

Normally they would set everything to spec and make sure the steering wheel is centered. You would have a before and after numbers with factory spec'd range of acceptable alignment. Seems odd to me.

You center the rack when you do an alignment. The steering wheel may be on crooked.

I had an alignment douchie, center my steering wheel (which was on crooked), and it would turn farther to the left than the right.
Twas bitchen for U turns!

When I put a new rack in mine - 1) center the rack; 2) remove/replace steering wheel so it's centered; 3) set toe with the steering wheel locked into center position. This will allow equal amounts of lock on both sides and have the steering wheel centered (or very close) when the car is headed down the road. As above, all contemporary shop alignments I've ever gotten have a fancy print out showing before and after specs. I've started doing it myself in the garage with parallel sewing thread stretched between two jack stands, transparent ruler and the angle finder on my smart phone.