home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications > aftermarket engine management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2011, 07:20 PM   #76
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fast4u View Post
Amazing. Seriously man. Awesome stuff. Truly set up for idiots. Can't thank you enough.
Thanks!
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 07:32 PM   #77
ipdown
Член на форума
 
ipdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beepee View Post
Thanks!
Beepee, very cool tutorial, thanks! I should mention that I am driving only with ostrich (without chip) for the last two months in the winter time, and we get some really cold weather sometimes. It just works and works. moates.net sells replacement battery at their site with a note - you should never need this!

And a tip - Porsche 928 used LH 2.3 and there is tuning system for it - SharkTuner. From it's manual they recommend setting rev limit to some low rpm, and tuning afr up to that point. Then gradually increase rev limit up to the range.
ipdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 07:53 PM   #78
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipdown View Post
And a tip - Porsche 928 used LH 2.3 and there is tuning system for it - SharkTuner. From it's manual they recommend setting rev limit to some low rpm, and tuning afr up to that point. Then gradually increase rev limit up to the range.
Neat! Do you have a SharkTuner manual or something I can read? I'm going to Google it now. Maybe I will move up from tinkering to tuning!

Thanks again for all of your hard work, and just in case it isn't clear:

ipdown, blabla, sbabbs, frpe82, mrjaybeeze and many others who I am forgetting from the ECUProject forums are who made this possible!
(if I left you out, let me know, I will update the OP as well!

Thanks guys!!!!
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 07:56 PM   #79
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

shark tuner isn't vastly different from TP. I played with one a couple years ago on a supercharged 928. I wouldn't worry as much about setting a low RPM limit per-se, I would just suggest that one should make small changes unless you're scaling an entire map (for say... e85 or bigger injectors or whatever)
__________________
"They bum rushed them in their own crib, they drank all their beer, they partied with their ladies and they left with the trophy"

Now with in-house Dyno tuning!

Megasquirt Tuning!
Plug and play LH 2.4 Megasquirt, now with stealth mode!
linuxman51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:24 PM   #80
Lord_Athlon
300+ Clurb
 
Lord_Athlon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Saudi Aurora
Default

Do you know the pulses per revolution on Lh 2.2
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RvolvoR View Post
simple...just throw the redblock in the trash and install, well, almost anything modern

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlard View Post
Yet Asher here went with...
Lord_Athlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:58 PM   #81
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Just figured out how to make TunerPro calculate RPM! Yay! Updates soon...
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 09:58 PM   #82
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Ok I have crashed TunerPro like 37 times now trying to enter conversion formulas... I'm beginning to see what ipdown meant
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 10:24 PM   #83
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

hahaha. i'm still waiting on my buddy to call back so I can grab the ostrich, otherwise it'll probably have to wait til weds when we're dyno tuning another car.

probably just as well, I don't have a wideband for the 940 yet. thinking about getting one of those 14point7 oem type units.
linuxman51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 11:06 PM   #84
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxman51 View Post
hahaha. i'm still waiting on my buddy to call back so I can grab the ostrich, otherwise it'll probably have to wait til weds when we're dyno tuning another car.

probably just as well, I don't have a wideband for the 940 yet. thinking about getting one of those 14point7 oem type units.
That's exactly what I wish I'd bought because you get WB02+datalogging. An excellent deal for the price IMO...

But my LC1 hasn't crapped the bed.... yet... Maybe I will have better luck than MrBill, I'll try and keep mine off the turbine housing
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:12 AM   #85
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Updated my package. Uhhh-huh huh huh!
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:15 AM   #86
2fast4u
Board Member
 
2fast4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Acushnet, Massachusetts
Default

if you changed all the data on a NA box to the same data on the turbo box, would that make it a turbo computer(not officially but run identically).
__________________
1993 940T
2005 RSX Type S

Quote:
Originally Posted by badvlvo View Post
Sounds like you are afraid of the horse cock Kenny.
Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxman51 View Post
I will freely admit that yes, yes I am. and I'm not ashamed of that fact.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBill View Post
im skeptical... i hope this isnt your last post. famous last words, rite? "anyone JB welded this?"
2fast4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:22 AM   #87
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fast4u View Post
if you changed all the data on a NA box to the same data on the turbo box, would that make it a turbo computer(not officially but run identically).
Yup. As far as I know they are completely the same from a hardware standpoint.
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:31 AM   #88
Hagar17
Board Member
 
Hagar17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Victoria BC
Default

So with the Ostrich loaded and running via laptop you can then shutdown remove the laptop and restart and drive the car? The Ostrich thus retaining the maps etc thus becoming the newly programmed ECU?
__________________
Keeping late 80's Swedish metal alive!
Hagar17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:40 AM   #89
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hagar17 View Post
So with the Ostrich loaded and running via laptop you can then shutdown remove the laptop and restart and drive the car? The Ostrich thus retaining the maps etc thus becoming the newly programmed ECU's chip?
Fixed. But I think yes. Mine has been shipped, can't wait!


I need some clarification, if I take that 935NA bin and modify it to my liking, can I use it in my 951 ECU? I'm thinking I can, but maybe not... I can't remember for sure now if I was able to take the 935 XDF file and open up my 951 bin through TunerPro. I need to get that other computer up and rolling, but it's not mine so I can only sometimes use it.
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 02:04 AM   #90
gross polluter
They see me trollin'
 
gross polluter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cold Lake, AB
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klr142 View Post
Fixed. But I think yes.
Yes.
__________________
'88 245 - 2JZGTE VVTi | MS3X ECU, MS2 TCU | GT3582R-HTA | Staged simultaneous dual fuel | 590whp 580ftlbs

1968 Furd Rustang fastberk | 2JZGTE VVTi | MS3X ECU | PT6776S | 4L80e Microsquirt TCU Sloppy Transbrake | 3.73 8.8" rear end

1981 Piper Cherokee Archer II | All stock
gross polluter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 02:27 AM   #91
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hagar17 View Post
So with the Ostrich loaded and running via laptop you can then shutdown remove the laptop and restart and drive the car? The Ostrich thus retaining the maps etc thus becoming the newly programmed ECU?
Absolutely. Like ipdown said, he has been running his in his car for 2 months that way!

And the Ostrich isn't an ECU
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 02:31 AM   #92
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Posted an new XDF, forcing myself to go to bed before I start having nightmares about Robert Bosch chasing me with a TI-92 or something, I hate maths.
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 04:53 AM   #93
blabla
Board Member
 
blabla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Default

Great work beepee! Nice to see all the info/knowledge bundled like this!
blabla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 07:36 AM   #94
ipdown
Член на форума
 
ipdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by linuxman51 View Post
shark tuner isn't vastly different from TP. I played with one a couple years ago on a supercharged 928. I wouldn't worry as much about setting a low RPM limit per-se, I would just suggest that one should make small changes unless you're scaling an entire map (for say... e85 or bigger injectors or whatever)
Kenny, can you get hands on SharkTuner executable files? There is some nice things to squeeze from it. I now it relies on the accompanying hardware, but still most parts are left to the software side. If I had it after few nights with IdaPRO more nice things will be revealed.
ipdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 08:04 AM   #95
ipdown
Член на форума
 
ipdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Default

Another note about main fuel map values - there is conversion too: X-128
Then valid range for a cell becomes [-128 : 127], where 0 is zero correction, all values greater than zero adds fuel, negative subtracts fuel from the calculated value, shown here.

In other words if left as is, (unsigned) 128 would mean that after doing the calculation for the given load and rpm, the calculated value is used as is without correcting it (zero correction). Changing a cell by 1 changes fueling by about 0.2%
Sorry for the crappy explanation, but I hope you get the point.
P.S. For the "C/C++" people the values in the main fuel map cells are of type "char".
ipdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 08:49 AM   #96
linuxman51
BRANDSCHUTZVORSCHRIFTEN!
 
linuxman51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mont, AL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipdown View Post
Kenny, can you get hands on SharkTuner executable files? There is some nice things to squeeze from it. I now it relies on the accompanying hardware, but still most parts are left to the software side. If I had it after few nights with IdaPRO more nice things will be revealed.
I'll see what I can do, I can't promise anything.
linuxman51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 11:06 AM   #97
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipdown View Post
Another note about main fuel map values - there is conversion too: X-128
Then valid range for a cell becomes [-128 : 127], where 0 is zero correction, all values greater than zero adds fuel, negative subtracts fuel from the calculated value, shown here.

In other words if left as is, (unsigned) 128 would mean that after doing the calculation for the given load and rpm, the calculated value is used as is without correcting it (zero correction). Changing a cell by 1 changes fueling by about 0.2%
Sorry for the crappy explanation, but I hope you get the point.
P.S. For the "C/C++" people the values in the main fuel map cells are of type "char".
I was reading the Sharktuner manual and was wondering if it worked the same way. Does anyone think it would be useful to present the fuel table as percentage figures instead of raw integers? i.e. +100% to -100? Should be a simple change.
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 11:08 AM   #98
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blabla View Post
Great work beepee! Nice to see all the info/knowledge bundled like this!
Thanks! Keep an eye on it, I don't want to inadvertently post something incorrect! I need smart folk checking up on me
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 11:28 AM   #99
klr142
Turbo, what?
 
klr142's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OR
Default

Question... Lamda correction, if we turn it off, adjust everything to where we want it(I will still want it to be near stoich for most driving, just not the fun and aggressive stuff), then turn it back on, it's going to want to adjust stuff further, won't it? Is there a map somewhere that gives us control over what it thinks it wants to be seeing?
klr142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 11:42 AM   #100
beepee
how hard can it be?
 
beepee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klr142 View Post
Question... Lamda correction, if we turn it off, adjust everything to where we want it(I will still want it to be near stoich for most driving, just not the fun and aggressive stuff), then turn it back on, it's going to want to adjust stuff further, won't it? Is there a map somewhere that gives us control over what it thinks it wants to be seeing?
Somewhere there is a map that controls how much "authority" the lambda sensor has. As far as having lambda target anything other than 14.7, you can't. Download my latest XDF; I have added several 'unknown' 5x5 maps... I'd wager a bet that one of them has something to do with lambda. Maybe.

Ipdown had a more thorough description on ECUProject, but basically the lambda circuit gets converted to a 2-bit input on the ECU, and the voltages that change the bits are determined by the hardware, not software

That said; I used narrowband emulation with my LC1 to fool the ECU into thinking that 15.5 is 14.7 and that works just peachy! Just make sure that you don't lean out in boost (mine doesn't).

Last edited by beepee; 01-25-2011 at 11:47 AM..
beepee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.