home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications > aftermarket engine management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2019, 12:19 PM   #1
Chuck W
Board Member
 
Chuck W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indpls, IN
Default Whiteblock into a 240 - Engine Management?

As I've committed to swapping a whiteblock 5-cyl into my 240, I'm left with trying to decide what ECU to use for the project.

The shortlist of possibles are:
-MS3
-MaxxECU
-Flashable M4.4 Motronic

I'm intending to do COP and utilize the ExVVT set-up on the engine I have.
I've messed with older MS stuff on a couple of projects and have begin to dabble in the M4.4 tuning on our 850's. I'm no expert though.

Are either of the non-OE ECUs a better choice for the 5-cyl? Been starting to dig through documentation on them, but haven't been swayed one way or the other.

Trying to keep costs reasonable, but I understand that this will most likely be one of the more pricey components of the project.

Thoughts?
__________________
'78 264GLE
'97 854 T5 (Eventually to be 5spd)
'80 264GLE (B21FT/M46/MS) - SOLD '77 242DL (B21F/M45) - SOLD '75 245DL SOLD '85 244GLT DEAD
'83 Tbird Turbo (2.3T/T5/MegaSquirt)
My feedback thread
Chuck W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 08:28 PM   #2
Dirty Rick
Board Member
 
Dirty Rick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cornholio, OR
Default

MS3 would be my choice.
__________________
I don't know who I am when I am somebody else.
Dirty Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 08:29 PM   #3
doucheNozzle
Newbie
 
doucheNozzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Pitt, 15147
Default

Everybody swears by the MaxxECU stuff for the white blocks.

However, people are making damn good power with the help of Aaron at VAST. The nice thing about a tuned 4.4 ECU is that you don't have to do any of the warm up ****.
__________________

'93 944 T - #TrophyVo
'00 XC70 SE - Slow
'04 V70 T5A - Feels Fast
doucheNozzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 10:13 PM   #4
Chuck W
Board Member
 
Chuck W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indpls, IN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doucheNozzle View Post
However, people are making damn good power with the help of Aaron at VAST. The nice thing about a tuned 4.4 ECU is that you don't have to do any of the warm up ****.
Yeah, I recently got stuff set-up to be able to flash/tune the M4.4 stuff, and have messed around with things a little bit, and not having to deal with the fiddly bits would be nice. The learning curve on tuning that set-up is a bit steeper, though.
Chuck W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 10:40 PM   #5
doucheNozzle
Newbie
 
doucheNozzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Pitt, 15147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck W View Post
Yeah, I recently got stuff set-up to be able to flash/tune the M4.4 stuff, and have messed around with things a little bit, and not having to deal with the fiddly bits would be nice. The learning curve on tuning that set-up is a bit steeper, though.
Just have Aaron tune it for you?
doucheNozzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 12:23 AM   #6
Chuck W
Board Member
 
Chuck W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indpls, IN
Default

That's always an option, but digging in and learning is all part of the fun.
Chuck W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 01:21 PM   #7
Chuck W
Board Member
 
Chuck W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indpls, IN
Default

Maybe I'm missing it somewhere, but does MS3 support e-throttle?

Just an option I'm toying with.
Chuck W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 01:28 PM   #8
oldschoolvolvo
Board Member
 
oldschoolvolvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Default

Here's another thread worth reading
https://forums.tbforums.com/showthread.php?t=301865
__________________
-Mike
1998 V70 T5
1979 242 DL 16v

|Feedback|
oldschoolvolvo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 01:46 PM   #9
Chuck W
Board Member
 
Chuck W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indpls, IN
Default

The only thing that is turning me away from using the M4.4 ECUs I have is the fact that they are 20-year-old electronics.

I did more digging, and MS doesn't support e-throttle. At least not "officially".
Chuck W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 12:05 AM   #10
Alex Buchka
8 cylinders
 
Alex Buchka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Default

I've had a few different ecu's on my whiteblock swapped 240. Started with a megasquirt and moved on to a few different flavors of Link G4+. Right now I'm running a G4+ Extreme and I'm fairly happy with it. My turbo+ITB setup is kinda quirky and there are a few things I wish it would do better but my only option for improvement at this stage is a Motec or a Life Racing ($$$$) so it'll stay on the car for now.

At the end of the day I think it's basically a toss-up between Link, MS3, and MaxxECU. They are pretty competitive on price, features, and flexibility. You'll be happy with any of them to be honest. I'm personally not a big fan of MS3, mostly due to the lack of E-throttle support.
Alex Buchka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 04:15 PM   #11
stick70
All the gauges
 
stick70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: North Carolina
Default

I'm on a MS3Pro here, don't have anything bad to say about it.
__________________
Kyle and the "Projects" -- '84 242 TI -- '66 220 S -- '89 Supra Turbo -- '84 Rabbit GTI

Quote:
Originally Posted by towerymt View Post
Cool car. Smells period correct. Would follow through twisties again. A+
stick70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 11:16 AM   #12
Chuck W
Board Member
 
Chuck W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indpls, IN
Default

Thanks for the input, guys.

I think I'm leaning towards the MaxxECU set-up, as I'm kind of liking the option to do the e-throttle.
Chuck W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 02:31 PM   #13
GTJordan
Been here for too long
 
GTJordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Edmonton AB
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck W View Post
Thanks for the input, guys.

I think I'm leaning towards the MaxxECU set-up, as I'm kind of liking the option to do the e-throttle.
I'm also 90% decided this is the route I'm going on my 16V Turbo.

Jordan
__________________
80 242- 2.5L 16V, NIW intake/exhaust, T5, Porsche brakes, short billies and Kaplenkhe suspension, Trutrack.
Project Thread- http://www.turbobricks.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=324470
GTJordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 08:55 AM   #14
Chuck W
Board Member
 
Chuck W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indpls, IN
Default

I guess staying on the e-throttle discussion.

I've seen a couple builds using MaxxECU that are using the throttle body from a P2 S60/V70 (0-5V signal with a PWM back-up). I didn't see much on the pedals, but I'm imagining some hybrid of the 240 and P2 set-up.
Chuck W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 05:14 PM   #15
Alex Buchka
8 cylinders
 
Alex Buchka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Default

Here's a picture of the setup I'm running mocked up on the bench.



It's an E-class benz pedal position sensor made to interface with a cable. The sensor has two 0-5v outputs that are compatible with pretty much any ECU. Just mounted it underneath the brake master and joined it to the stock throttle cable. Way easier than digging around under the dash.

https://www.fcpeuro.com/products/mer...sor-0125423317

I bought it used on ebay with a bracket, stump of throttle cable, and a cut harness for something like $65.
Alex Buchka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 05:26 PM   #16
RvolvoR
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PDX
Default

cough

https://www.maxxecu.com/products/ter...rness/volvo_t5
RvolvoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:06 AM   #17
Chuck W
Board Member
 
Chuck W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indpls, IN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RvolvoR View Post
That might be an option, if it works with the SPORT version of the ECU.

http://www.maxxecu.com/webhelp/wirin...-volvo_t5.html
Chuck W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:22 AM   #18
RvolvoR
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PDX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck W View Post
That might be an option, if it works with the SPORT version of the ECU.

http://www.maxxecu.com/webhelp/wirin...-volvo_t5.html
It should, as the main plug on their ECUs are all the same, iirc. It is the second or third plug which adds a bunch more stuff on the race and pro versions.
RvolvoR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 09:04 AM   #19
Chuck W
Board Member
 
Chuck W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Indpls, IN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Buchka View Post
Here's a picture of the setup I'm running mocked up on the bench.


It's an E-class benz pedal position sensor made to interface with a cable. The sensor has two 0-5v outputs that are compatible with pretty much any ECU. Just mounted it underneath the brake master and joined it to the stock throttle cable. Way easier than digging around under the dash.


I bought it used on ebay with a bracket, stump of throttle cable, and a cut harness for something like $65.
Interesting.
I'll be swapping the pedal assy anyway, seeing as the car is originally a manual, so I'll be mucking about under the dash with mods for the hydro clutch set-up, so it might not be too terrible to make any changes to accommodate a pedal sensor. This would save one bit of mods, I suppose.

Last edited by Chuck W; Today at 02:50 PM..
Chuck W is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.