home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications > aftermarket engine management

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2020, 09:41 PM   #1
MrBrown
Board Member
 
MrBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default MS2 spark output woes

No stim/just bench tests. Read the Hardware manual 50 11 times over and over.
Last chance before I have fun with a torch.

Here it goes...
ECU: MS2 V3.0
Firmware: MS2/Extra 3.4.3 release 20191126 15:29BST(c)KC/JSM/JB
Ign Outputs: Wasted Spark COP/CNP, LS2 coils. Board designed using Logic spark outputs D14, D15, D16, and JS11 (pull up resistor).
Stock 60-2 VR missing tooth on crank.
Board setup per manual: Jumper VRIN to TACHSELECT, VrOUT to TSEL, D1 is just jumpered (no diode) same for D2. IGN to JS10 (tacho output), JS9 to S12C, J
Tunerstudio settings: Falling Edge, Going Low, wasted COP, Spark A output D14.

ECU turns on and connects to tunerstudio. Test mode fires off the fuel pumps and all injectors as well.

The problem: During test mode, Coil outputs A,B, and C all fire a coil (using a single confirmed working coil for each test just swapping connectors). Output D does not fire at all. All pins in the connectors receive power, ground, and sensor ground. The logic pin has been tested for open circuitry from the connector to the ECU proto board and all have continuity (nothing open).

Where should I even begin to further troubleshoot?
__________________
GhettoFab build thrizzie

Last edited by MrBrown; 08-28-2020 at 09:43 PM.. Reason: added more info
MrBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2020, 12:50 PM   #2
bobxyz
Board Member
 
bobxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Boulder CO
Default

What circuits are you using for Spark A,B,C,D? Can you post a link, or a manual version/page?

Without a cam sensor, the best you can do is wasted spark, or wasted COP. You can wire these up using only 2 spark outputs -- wire SpkA to 1&4, SpkB to 2&3.
bobxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2020, 01:33 PM   #3
MrBrown
Board Member
 
MrBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

So using COP wasted spark, you aren’t supposed to have outputs C and D?
MrBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2020, 01:39 PM   #4
MrBrown
Board Member
 
MrBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Im using the 60-2 CPS for triggering and the folowing for wasted spark COP:
A uses D14
B uses D16
C uses D15
D uses built circuit from JS11
MrBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2020, 03:57 AM   #5
TurboDutch
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Nieuw en Sint Joosland
Default

Nope only 2 outputs... otherwise it wouldn't be wasted spark.
TurboDutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2020, 09:36 AM   #6
cwdodson88
Board Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Dalles, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboDutch View Post
Nope only 2 outputs... otherwise it wouldn't be wasted spark.
Ms2 software can control wasted coil on plug. Using 4 driver circuits and firing them in pairs. Maybe leave this one to someone who has at least read the manuals?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikep View Post
Build it, break it, build what broke stronger, lather, rinse, repeat.

The Build Thread
SVEA - PUSHROD TURBO!
cwdodson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2020, 11:07 AM   #7
bobxyz
Board Member
 
bobxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Boulder CO
Default

Are you using the circuits here (i.e. you added a resistor for A,B,C, and 2 resistors plus a transistor for D)?
http://www.msextra.com/doc/pdf/html/...dware-3.4.html

These circuits should be able to drive 2 logic level COPs per output. IIRC, some VAG coils need higher power and it's better to wire them as 1 COP per output (if you have the pins available). There should be good info available on different types of COPs/CoilPerPlugs if you search for V8 megasquirt ignition setups. With LS2 coils, you should be able to drive 2 per output.
bobxyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2020, 01:14 PM   #8
MrBrown
Board Member
 
MrBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Yes, the resistor method used for logic level coils was used. There are 5 additional resistors and a transistor all used for the outputs. Each coil should receive spark on its own accord through this method. The system is setup for wasted spark and will fire dual coils as Chris stated.

Since I can’t get spark in output D, I will remove the wiring to C and D and run the logic output wires to A and B. The hell with it.

If this doesn’t work you will see it for sale soon.
MrBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2020, 09:32 AM   #9
TurboDutch
Board Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Nieuw en Sint Joosland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwdodson88 View Post
Ms2 software can control wasted coil on plug. Using 4 driver circuits and firing them in pairs. Maybe leave this one to someone who has at least read the manuals?
Sorry m8...
TurboDutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2020, 12:49 PM   #10
Harlard
Hurlurd?Harland?Bueller?
 
Harlard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: PDX
Default

Can you post a composite logger of your crank signal? I foresee issues if you don't have a VR conditioner for that crank pickup. Also, can you split the signal for Spk A and Spk B? That should simplify your outputs and let you run wasted COP with logic level coils.
__________________


Herr Harlard am Erstens

1979 242 DL

Quote:
Originally Posted by t8fanning View Post
My knob has a big chunk of steel on it
Harlard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2020, 03:37 PM   #11
MrBrown
Board Member
 
MrBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlard View Post
Can you post a composite logger of your crank signal? I foresee issues if you don't have a VR conditioner for that crank pickup. Also, can you split the signal for Spk A and Spk B? That should simplify your outputs and let you run wasted COP with logic level coils.
I haven’t attempted to turn the car over yet as I started only messing with test mode I/O’s.

As far as the VR goes, I wire the stock connector to the PINs as stated in the manual. The shielded wire is tied into pin 2 and the VR+ to pin 24 and VR- to pin 1. Not sure what a conditioner is unless you’re speaking of adding the 10k resistor to VR+ Which I haven’t yet..

Last night I looped Spark A and Spark D logic wires to one another and it uses D14 resistor method on the proto board for signal. Same for B and C which uses D16 resistor method. Now I am wasted spark on Spark A for cylinders 1 and 4, and Spark B for cylinders 2 and 3.
MrBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 01:38 AM   #12
MrBrown
Board Member
 
MrBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Case closed. Fixed it. Solder joint needed touching up.
MrBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2020, 01:51 AM   #13
culberro
Ronald Culberbone III
 
culberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Default

Nice!
__________________
Cult Person. Pissing in your Kool-Aid.
culberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.