home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > General > showroom

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2008, 02:32 PM   #1
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default Stereo cabling opinions

I presently have a Pioneer head unit which is pretty nice, but it has no auxillary in or USB. That said, I recently got a DEH2000MP.



Cool because it has the aux input right on the unit face.

But yesterday I remembered that I would really like the ability to use USB devices as well so I ordered a
DEH-P6000UB.



The fail part is that there is no aux input on the face. OTOH, it's nice to be able to bring portable drives or flash devices to the car and have the head unit work from there.

That said, what would you guys consider in terms of where to mount portable drives and where to route the USB cable that plugs into the back of the unit as well?
__________________
Quote:
For all you Dijkstra fanboys:

Knuth also cites a letter sent to him by Dijkstra, in which the latter adds some nuance to this earlier statements: "Please don't fall into the trap of believing that I am terribly dogmatical about [the go to statement]. I have the uncomfortable feeling that others are making a religion out of it, as if the conceptual problems of programming could be solved by a single trick, by a simple form of coding discipline!"
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 02:40 PM   #2
AlizeE
Board Member
 
AlizeE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

In my 964, I drilled a little hole in the glovebox (3mm), and I ran a male mini-jack connector from here to the back of my DEH-4000R unit.
My MP3 goes in the glovebox, I can't control it with the headunit (it's only an aux input), but my MP3 is hidden.



To make a little hole, you have to cut your USB cable, and re-sold it after installation. If you drill a big hole, in order to route the USB cable by it, you might loose it on the dashboard...

(sorry for my bad english, I'm French)
__________________
French 1997 945 turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by H.M.S View Post
werent all t5 motor in gaywheeldrive only?
AlizeE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 02:59 PM   #3
CAPT_BLOTTO
#Crush It
 
CAPT_BLOTTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kansas City
Default

It has an aux and usb on the back. I just ran my cables down the the cubbyhole that's right in front of the shifter.
__________________
Hello My Glorious!

Junkyard Parts request thread!
Mesquite FB page! Constant updates!

Da Yellow Sold | $800 245 | 77 244
CAPT_BLOTTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 03:18 PM   #4
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlizeE View Post
In my 964, I drilled a little hole in the glovebox (3mm), and I ran a male mini-jack connector from here to the back of my DEH-4000R unit.
My MP3 goes in the glovebox, I can't control it with the headunit (it's only an aux input), but my MP3 is hidden.



To make a little hole, you have to cut your USB cable, and re-sold it after installation. If you drill a big hole, in order to route the USB cable by it, you might loose it on the dashboard...

(sorry for my bad english, I'm French)
Your English isn't that bad at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAPT_BLOTTO View Post
It has an aux and usb on the back. I just ran my cables down the the cubbyhole that's right in front of the shifter.
That cubbyhole is where my stereo is. I have my guages in the top location.
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 04:06 PM   #5
NotSoFresh
Sick ****** T-Brick Prick
 
NotSoFresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: gangcouver
Default get an adapter

i looked around and found a stereo install place that had these trick usb flush mount things. you just cut a rectangle hole anywhere and the plastic peices mount on either side trapping the cable..

You could also canibalize a computer case. How about making a usb port outa a blank switch spot on your dash..
__________________
1982 GLT 244 redwood metallic, turbo, lowered...RIP
Colonel Mustard: 1979 242DL, B21A, SU carb, M45, GT sways, Limited-slip, rad hubcaps, Manual rack, no ac e-fan
Blueberry: 1989 244, dark blue. Ipd everywhere. H-cam. Advance and full retard switches on dash. Galaxy wheels, LSD, other stuff from a bunch of cars on here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NativeJesus View Post
This isn't even a trailer park suspension.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack View Post
740s don’t look hot.
More like ugly fat girl that can blow well but eats the sandwich she made for you
NotSoFresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2008, 04:38 PM   #6
Chris_R
Kickin' rocks in sandals
 
Chris_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Loganville, GA
Default

If that deck has IP Bus then you can easily make an input and fit whatever jack you like. I added one to my older deck and it works great.

http://thinkcreatecomplete.blogspot....aux-input.html
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Joe View Post
Ermergherd!! Erm gernner kerhm!!
1995 964 (Silver)
1992 944Ti (White)
1996 965 (Burgundy) - Scrap
1994 945 Ti (Black) - Sirius Black Scrap
1992 944 GL (Black) - Killed by drunk driver
1988 745Ti (Silver) - Sold
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboBrickMan View Post
Long story short I found out she's a squirter.
Chris_R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:31 AM   #7
Big Lan
Face in the carpet
 
Big Lan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Setting stuff on fire
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BDKR View Post
That said, what would you guys consider in terms of where to mount portable drives and where to route the USB cable that plugs into the back of the unit as well?
Generally, I run these into the glovebox. Fully enclosed ones present something of a challenge, but it's still easy enough if you can take out the glovebox. I drill a hole in the top, toward the back, and run it in through there. The USB plug needs a smaller hole than the ipod cords that come on Sonys, which is nice. I like the idea of using a USB socket from a computer flush mounted somewhere, I hadn't thought of that.

The USB is nice since you can use flash drives on it. Found out a couple limitations, though. From what a customer told me, the unit can only recognize 500 folders. Also, the USB only provides 500mA of power, so you pretty much have to stick to flash drives. There's some MP3 players that it won't recognize as well, so you may want to check that out before you get it.

And, like Blotto said, there's a female aux input on the back of the radio as well, so you can run a cord out from there for another input.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris_R View Post
If that deck has IP Bus then you can easily make an input and fit whatever jack you like. I added one to my older deck and it works great.

http://thinkcreatecomplete.blogspot....aux-input.html
It has IP Bus, that's what the first P in the model number is for. I like that DIY input, pretty cool.
__________________
03 GMC Sonoma | 95 Miata | 90 Miata | 88 Tbird Sport | 83 245ti | 71 Grand Prix | 67 122s
"At every light it's automatic - burn rubber!" - E-40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazychopstick View Post
Extreme! It's no coincidence that Lan rhymes with Man.
Live for today, because tomorrow's ****ed.
Big Lan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:43 AM   #8
Delfosse
VFL
 
Join Date: May 2006
Default

get some seat-belts and buckles that go to the side of the e-brake cover instead of in it. Then find the cubby hole for that. Thats what Im doing in my 81 242GLT. Then run the wires under the carpet and into that cubby hole. I'm also going to put a aux. port under the cover and put my cell phone car charger in there and just have the wire sticking out. Perfect spot for devices!
Delfosse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 11:00 AM   #9
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NotSoFresh View Post
i looked around and found a stereo install place that had these trick usb flush mount things. you just cut a rectangle hole anywhere and the plastic peices mount on either side trapping the cable..

You could also canibalize a computer case. How about making a usb port outa a blank switch spot on your dash..
Nice!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris_R View Post
If that deck has IP Bus then you can easily make an input and fit whatever jack you like. I added one to my older deck and it works great.

http://thinkcreatecomplete.blogspot....aux-input.html
Unfortunately, it (the one in the car now) doesn't. Besides, I've already put out the cash.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Lan View Post
Generally, I run these into the glovebox. Fully enclosed ones present something of a challenge, but it's still easy enough if you can take out the glovebox. I drill a hole in the top, toward the back, and run it in through there. The USB plug needs a smaller hole than the ipod cords that come on Sonys, which is nice. I like the idea of using a USB socket from a computer flush mounted somewhere, I hadn't thought of that.

The USB is nice since you can use flash drives on it. Found out a couple limitations, though. From what a customer told me, the unit can only recognize 500 folders. Also, the USB only provides 500mA of power, so you pretty much have to stick to flash drives. There's some MP3 players that it won't recognize as well, so you may want to check that out before you get it.

And, like Blotto said, there's a female aux input on the back of the radio as well, so you can run a cord out from there for another input.
Thanx for the input mang! My first idea was to do exactly as you were saying an come through the glove box for the USB port. I still want to run an aux port from a blank on the dash.

Good 411 about how much power is coming in via USB. I had my doubts that I would be able to run a portable drive on the power from the head unit alone.

Thanx again.
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 02:14 PM   #10
1stRaven
Needs motivation....
 
1stRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lincoln - UK
Default

I run a 3.5mm cable to my phone from the back of my headunit. Just use a phone holder on a vent and plug it in. other than than, I would think that the glove box would be the best option.

Is there a limit to the size of usb drive supported? a 16gb drive is going to hold a lot of music.
__________________
1stRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:13 PM   #11
hockey930
Board Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Default

search ebay for pioneer aux input there is a ton of stuff one there, maybe they will work for your deck, that is what I have hooked up to my 7300 or something like that.
ex http://cgi.ebay.com/Pioneer-to-iPOD-...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
08 535xi wagon 6sp
99 Miata
Exocet
hockey930 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:15 PM   #12
Big Lan
Face in the carpet
 
Big Lan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Setting stuff on fire
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1straven View Post
Is there a limit to the size of usb drive supported? a 16gb drive is going to hold a lot of music.
For that particular radio, it's 256gb. The aforementioned customer has a 32gb drive, and he said it fits his entire collection, which I don't doubt. He also said with that much stuff on there, it's a little slow to navigate through, which I also don't doubt. He did say that he was happy with the sub box I made him, which was all I really cared about.
Big Lan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:17 PM   #13
Big Lan
Face in the carpet
 
Big Lan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Setting stuff on fire
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey930 View Post
search ebay for pioneer aux input there is a ton of stuff one there, maybe they will work for your deck, that is what I have hooked up to my 7300 or something like that.
ex http://cgi.ebay.com/Pioneer-to-iPOD-...QQcmdZViewItem
With the 6000, he doesn't need to buy any adapters. It already has them built in.

Forgot to mention that you can use and control an ipod directly through the USB cable with the regular docking cable the ipod comes with, so no need to buy an ipod adapter, either.
Big Lan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 03:49 PM   #14
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Lan View Post
With the 6000, he doesn't need to buy any adapters. It already has them built in.

Forgot to mention that you can use and control an ipod directly through the USB cable with the regular docking cable the ipod comes with, so no need to buy an ipod adapter, either.
Yeah, all sweet stuff. I dont' plan on using an IPOD tho. I have a Phillips player much like this one.

BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2008, 06:32 PM   #15
colgate41
Board Member
 
colgate41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Default

The DEH-P6000UB. is a good solid deck. I put one in my 91' 740 t and its great. Nice finish and looks clean and crisp. I have a old ipod so i haven't had a change to use the controls for it, so i use a small 1gig jump drive which holds 200 songs. And i drilled a hole and just ran the usb wire into my glove. The usb wire that comes with the head unit is very long so wherever you put it, you will be good.
__________________
1991 744 Turbo. Last Volvo left.
colgate41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 10:42 AM   #16
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by colgate41 View Post
The usb wire that comes with the head unit is very long....
Really? Based on pic that I saw online, it didn't look very long. That's noice.
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 07:32 PM   #17
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Well, wel all pretty much know what's going on here right? When I started this trhed I was still waithing on the new unit to arrive. Today, UPS shows up and delivers a real kick in the A55!





Yep! A DOUBLE FRACKEN DIN AVH-6000DVD!!!!!

WTF!!!!!!

1) A double din unit in a 240?

2) It allready took two weeks to get here. I'm supposed to wait while these F-Tards fix this in a timely manner? I wanted the hawtness in for SE!

3) This is a 800 to 1K dollar unit. At least they didn't charge me for that.

I'm rather irritated actually. This screws up my schedule something fierce!

So now for a new question: Should I bother trying to have it installed? Should I just shoot myself?
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:01 PM   #18
Coupe' de Grace
Slowest in the West™
 
Coupe' de Grace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metropolitan los angeles
Default

nice problem to have... get to work
Coupe' de Grace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:10 PM   #19
badvlvo
Bad for Babies
 
badvlvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Default

Or I could send you the model you want and you could send me that one. I'll pay for shipping both ways.
__________________
RIP BADVLVO 3/1/1980-10/10/2015
Died at age 35

93 245 m47 300k miles, one owner, zero compression
badvlvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:14 PM   #20
Coupe' de Grace
Slowest in the West™
 
Coupe' de Grace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metropolitan los angeles
Default

is that there one o them newfangled touchscreen dealymajobbers?
Coupe' de Grace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:30 PM   #21
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coupe' de Grace View Post
is that there one o them newfangled touchscreen dealymajobbers?
Yes
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:41 PM   #22
Coupe' de Grace
Slowest in the West™
 
Coupe' de Grace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metropolitan los angeles
Default

looks nice for the upper spot but i wouldnt put it in the lower one.
Coupe' de Grace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 08:49 PM   #23
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coupe' de Grace View Post
looks nice for the upper spot but i wouldnt put it in the lower one.
I lose the vents up there. I'd like to have my AC.
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 09:05 PM   #24
amargill19?
Barry McCockiner
 
amargill19?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 604
Default

route the vents custom yo,

heated and cooled seats
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Wood View Post
Now, two years later, after a move to Oklahoma, a job in a potato salad plant, and many other assorted ventures, I have plans to visit Paraguay.
amargill19? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 09:08 PM   #25
BDKR
Section 9
 
BDKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Horizons Cave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amargill19 View Post
route the vents custom yo,

heated and cooled seats


I'm actually irritated as hell broo so I really appreciate your humor about now.
BDKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.