home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Old 07-14-2021, 04:36 PM   #1
fatcatbestcat
Professional Hack

Default Ignition For a Carb'd B230

Hi all.

I haven't bought anything yet, but I wanted to get some opinions or suggestions on what to do ignition-wise with a planned redblock swap. Realistically, the engines I'm looking at are going to be late 80s B230s with skinny rods. I'm not looking for crazy power, and to simplify installation in the planned recipient vehicle, I intend to be running carburetors.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to the OHC engines, so please bear with me.

I'm aware that LH 2.4 engines used some kind of crank sensor running off the flywheel. Would it be advisable to swap a 2.4 flywheel on a 2.2 engine and to use the crank sensor to run some kind of wasted spark setup?

Otherwise, I'm looking at getting a dedicated carb-friendly dizzy from 123ignition or the like. They're a bit pricy but if all I need to do is connect a coil to them, it should make for an easy install.

Also slightly related question; If I were to run a mechanical fuel pump (a la Penta engines), do stock B230Fs still have the eccentric to run the pump, or is there some other idler shaft I need to find?

Probably a bunch of dumb questions, but that's pretty much the norm for me. Any input would be helpful.

-------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by redblockpowered View Post
Will you do $14.99 shipped?
Quote:
Originally Posted by IansPlatinum View Post
please no more prying things with screwdrivers and bashing things with hammers!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cwazywazy View Post
my balls have more wrinkles than my brain
--------------------------------------------

-1967 144S
-1983 245 Diesel
fatcatbestcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 04:52 PM   #2
Harlard
Hurlurd?Harland?Bueller?