home register FAQ memberlist calendar

Go Back   Turbobricks Forums > Mechanical > performance & modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2015, 10:12 AM   #1
superboosted
You wish you had some..
 
superboosted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Baltimore. Murder,etc..
Default afr's WAY rich under boost and bouncing at cruise/idle

----I have done a ton of reading,I have pressure tested(no leaks).

I am running chipped ecus in a 94' 940 factory turbo ecus and car.16T,White T5 injectors,good flowing exhaust..

Problem just started one day..was running perfect,have not changed anything.May have happened after i added engine grounds? I dunno.

---Under WOT it will go into the 8's , and lose power,obviously.
---in a cruise or idle situation it will hunt from 13 to 15's

help a brother out. I will be playing with it tonight,pressure testing,again,and calibrating the o2,testing the ect and maf...
__________________
-2000 Mazda Miata
-1999 Lexus LS400- driver,boss ride.
-1978 Yamaha XS-Eleven
-2017 Jeep Wrangler- wifey's apple cart.
-none are volvos but I need one soon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by centason View Post
You may get detonation and the kool-aid man loves 940s
superboosted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 08:58 AM   #2
superboosted
You wish you had some..
 
superboosted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Baltimore. Murder,etc..
Default

70 views and no advice? Cmon guys! hahah.
superboosted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 09:02 AM   #3
740atl
Gear acquisition syndrome
 
740atl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Default

Seems normal for lh2.4 IMHO.

Isn't the afr supposed to oscillate around 14.7 as it tries to maintain stoich?
740atl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 09:26 AM   #4
superboosted
You wish you had some..
 
superboosted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Baltimore. Murder,etc..
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 740atl View Post
Seems normal for lh2.4 IMHO.

Isn't the afr supposed to oscillate around 14.7 as it tries to maintain stoich?
within reason..and tlao would say within .5/.7 also 8.0 on wot is way too rich..The problem is that it wasnt like this,and one someting changed...what that something is,is the mystery
superboosted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 04:24 PM   #5
dkrause
Board Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

It sounds like a sensor failure or bad connection to a sensor or an AFR gauge failure . Being this rich is the same as full "rich" that I saw when a pin in the ECU temp sensor connector lost contact with the sensor and created an open circuit.
The result was an engine that would "flood out" at 3500 + RPM them pop and bang/miss. Fixed the connector and everything was back to normal.

Last edited by dkrause; 05-15-2015 at 04:37 PM.. Reason: thought typo
dkrause is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 04:30 PM   #6
DarkKratoz
???
 
DarkKratoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Westminster, BC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superboosted View Post
within reason..and tlao would say within .5/.7 also 8.0 on wot is way too rich..The problem is that it wasnt like this,and one someting changed...what that something is,is the mystery
Check for vacuum leaks I think. If you're richening up that much, likely you're losing unmetered air. The MAF reads more air than what gets in the engine, squirts more gas than what gets in the engine. Grab (or make) a pressure tester for your intake and find the holes.

Really, what I should have done yesterday.

Good luck!
__________________
1995 Volvo 960 - Absolute turd that I despise
DarkKratoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2015, 09:25 AM   #7
MrBrown
Board Member
 
MrBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

I am currently having the near same issue, rather 8's im richening out to 10's everytime except my gauge only reads as low as 10 so it could possibly be more I dont have the bouncing around from 13-14's though (which still seems okay to me), mine stays great around 14.7-15.1's.

I hope you solve this issue because maybe it will solve mine and if I solve mine I will let you know so you can try it.
I am going to load the stock 937 bin file and see if my ECU is whack.

PM me if you figure it out please sir!
MrBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.